A lovely February afternoon at Lal Bagh – III

I managed to get a week off in late January/early February and was jubilant. The idea was to travel to some place, explore it and click pictures. Sadly, the plan fell flat and I had to stay holed up in Bangalore leaving me shattered. I had a lot of backlog when it came to my blog but I was in no mood to stay indoors. So I planned a small outing every day of the week to console myself.

On the first day of the month of love, I decided to go to Lal Bagh. I was quite sure the serene surroundings of the botanical gardens would lift my mood.

I started off post-lunch and didn’t face any hassle commuting by bus and then auto. So I reached the gardens quicker than I expected.

I chose to take a different path this time away from the Peninsular Gneiss. Just a week back, I had visited Lal Bagh for the flower show and visuals of the show were still fresh in my mind.

IMG_4112

I headed for the bonsai garden and strolled around the place. The quiescence was intoxicating.  The dwarf version of the Araucaria cookie caught my eye. Just a month back I had gone gaga over the larger version of the tree at the Christmas Tree Walk. I noticed the bonsais were all re-arranged probably as a precautionary measure after the mishap that took place some months back resulting in a young boy losing his life. Aesthetically, it was a change for the worse.

IMG_4113

I next came across this tall palm. Lal Bagh is full of them.

IMG_4115 (2)

IMG_4117 (2)

IMG_4122 (2)

Unlike most of the colonial structures in Lal Bagh which are in a sad shape this beautiful bungalow seems to be in mint condition. It was a brainchild of Gustav Hermann Krumbiegel and served as his residence, the residence of his successor, then a museum till the 1960s. Later, it was converted into an office.

IMG_4118 (2)

Close by, there was another vintage beauty.

IMG_4121

As I walked, I disturbed this dog that was till then was fast asleep on a pile of dry leaves.

IMG_4123

I noticed a container secured to a branch of a mango tree. Wonder what it is for?

IMG_4124

Further on, I came across this beautiful tree and took a picture.

IMG_4125

And as I walked on, I discovered another beauty.

IMG_4127

I was puzzled on seeing the branches of this tree. Never before have I come across so many vertical branches.

IMG_4128

It was leaf-shedding season for many trees.

A group of monkeys were having a whale of a time near the lake.

IMG_4131

IMG_4132

This youngster seemed to be counting his catch of fruits and relishing them. So engrossed was he that he hardly noticed me approaching him. He realised someone was watching him only after he finished his mini-lunch.

A similar looking fella was perched on the dustbin. In no time, he disappeared and appeared with a paper full of interesting grub. At least his expression tells that. And then minutes later he looked heavenwards as if to say, “Hey, this is surely manna from heaven!”

IMG_4147

A little distance away there was a fat chap comfortably ensconced on a bench. He seemed to be pondering over something. Monkeys are so much like us.

IMG_4155 (2)

Two siblings gave me an oh-so-cute pose.

IMG_4157

And why was this little one looking so sad?

IMG_4158 (2)

It was grooming time for this mother and son duo.

IMG_4163 (2)

The next one I saw seemed in all certainty to be the king of the gang. He seemed so wise and cool.

IMG_4169

As I walked on some fruits landed on my head. When I looked up see what I saw. A naughty munchkin with a guilty expression.

IMG_4172

Looks like looking heavenwards after getting food is a monkey’s way of saying grace. There were a few raw mango sellers along the way and this fellow seemed to have got hold of a discarded seed portion of a mango, something most humans feel lazy to eat.

He then had one good look at his food before landing his first bite, “Scruu..nch”.

IMG_4175

A few bites later he stopped as if to say, “Hey there, I am so sorry I’m eating without sharing with you”.

 

 

He then cast some curious glances before continuing to munch.

Inspired by him, I bought raw mango and sat down to relish it with salt and chilli powder. So lost was I that I forgot about sunset. After finishing the mango, I hurried up the Peninsular Gneiss to click pictures of the setting sun only to realise I was a wee bit late. The sun had gone down.

It was beginning to get dark. I went down the hillock and decided to end my day with a plate of ‘chaat’ which did not turn out be as tasty as the mango. I left Lal Bagh with memories of the monkeys and of course the raw mango with chilli and salt (yummmm!).

Leave a Reply

