Late Post: Beach hopping at Mangalore – 1

It always feels great visiting my place of birth. A sea of happiness engulfs me at a mere mention of the name. Sadly, all my visits to Mangalore have been fleeting ones. When I got an opportunity to visit the port city in early April I was overwhelmed with excitement and joy although this was going to be another short stay.

The occasion was a family function and my stay was cut short from two days to one owing to my niece’s dance exam coming in the way. I left Bangalore on a Sunday night (April 10) on a sleeper bus. It was the first time I was travelling by one and I was wondering how the journey would be. All my doubts were put to rest in the next one hour.  I thoroughly enjoyed the bumpy ride. It felt like sleeping in one big rocking cradle. It being the holiday season, the bus was not surprisingly packed with all seats (or rather sleepers) occupied.

It must have been around 5.30 in the morning when we reached our destination. We took a rickshaw to the hotel which would be our residence for part of the day.

IMG_0952

IMG_0953

When we got to our room I immediately headed for the large windows. My eyes caught sight of  a beautiful Cannonball tree in a courtyard. As it was pretty dark, I  couldn’t get a good picture of it. Much later I finally got a picture. It turned out that the place was an educational institution.

The function at a nearby hall must have taken up most of the morning. Some of my cousins agreed to my idea of visiting the beach in the evening. After a quick round of shopping, I and my cousins hopped on to the van we would be using for our beach trip.

IMG_1075 (2)

IMG_1085

IMG_1086

Our first stop was the Surathkal beach. A major draw here is the Light House which allows visitors. It turned out to be quite a climb. There was a lot of machinery at the place and it was quite dark inside. Finally, when we got to the top of the tower, the aerial views we got to see of the beach and the surroundings were beautiful. The sands looked white and the beach looked spotless clean. Even as we were awestruck by the views, a gentle breeze from the sea caressed our faces and wiped off every trace of sweat caused by the climb up the flight of stairs. Nature’s Towel I would say! And there was enough time for some aerial clicks  :)  Have a look:

IMG_1078 (2)IMG_1080 (2)IMG_1081 (2)IMG_1088 (2)IMG_1092 (2)IMG_1094 (3)IMG_1097IMG_1098 (2)IMG_1101IMG_1102 (2)IMG_1103 (2)IMG_1106 (2)IMG_1111 (2)IMG_1125IMG_1131 (2)IMG_1134 (2)IMG_1135IMG_1136 (2)IMG_1148

 

 

4 thoughts on “Late Post: Beach hopping at Mangalore – 1

Leave a Reply

