Late Post: In Quest of the Tree of Gold – 5

Day 5
16 March 2016

I left home very early on Wednesday morning with a glimmer of hope of seeing the Trees of Gold (Tabebuia argentea) in full bloom. In all probability, the heavy downpour last night would have brought down most of the flowers.

IMG_0733

It must have been a quarter past eight when I reached Cubbon Park. As I walked up to the Bandstand, my fears turned out to be true. The heavy rains last night had come down heavily on the yellow canopies. Perhaps I should have visited the place on Tuesday morning.

IMG_0737

IMG_0744

IMG_0747

IMG_0749

IMG_0752

IMG_0753

IMG_0754 (2)

IMG_0756

IMG_0757

IMG_0758

As it was a working day, there weren’t many people around. I could spot some joggers and there was this one man who seemed to be meditating.

IMG_0735 (3)

The overnight rains had created many tiny ponds on the lawns much to the relief of the critters here who were till then reeling under the intense summer heat.

IMG_0762

IMG_0766

IMG_0767

I left the park after what would have been my shortest visit here. And with that I decided to end my quest for the Tree of Gold this year.

IMG_0759

 

 

2 thoughts on “Late Post: In Quest of the Tree of Gold – 5

Leave a Reply

