Late Post: In Quest of the Tree of Gold – 4

 

Day 4
13 March 2016

IMG_0570 (2)

Sunday, the 13th turned out to be the best day in my quest of the Tree of Gold (Tabebuia argentea). As I walked up the road that led to the bandstand, my eyes caught sight of a fully bloomed Tree of Gold. It was such a lovely sight! I was transfixed.

IMG_0573IMG_0574IMG_0576

But when I turned my gaze to my right towards the bandstand I realised that the trees there still hadn’t bloomed fully. Maybe, in another couple of days they would.

The lawns that surrounded the Trees of Gold were brimming with activity. The cynosure of attention was the Silent Lady of Cubbon Park and her gang of canines. For many who had gathered there, it was selfie time with her super-friendly gang of six.

A few yoga enthusiasts found the bed of yellow flowers a perfect place for their exercise sessions.

The bandstand in recent times has become a platform for young dancers to showcase their talent. This Sunday too, there were two teams of them pitted against each other. Like the last time, I went on a clicking spree only to be shooed off by one of the guards.

IMG_0679IMG_0680IMG_0681IMG_0682

As I wandered around the place, I ran into the Silent Lady again and this time she beckoned me to take pictures of her furry babies. It felt so nice to be welcomed with so much warmth. And I went on click click click…..

IMG_0711IMG_0709IMG_0706IMG_0700IMG_0696IMG_0695 (2)IMG_0592 And there were more clicks of the yellow blooms and the dancers but this time from a considerable distance.

IMG_0723

The group of three men made for an interesting click.

IMG_0724

A little further away, a naughty fella was trying to plough his cycle through a thick blanket of dry leaves. The sylvan surroundings were undoubtedly the right place for him to indulge in such games. Everyone needs parks – the young and the old alike. We cannot do without green spaces.

IMG_0727IMG_0728

The not so complete blooms made me want to come back for another visit with the hope of seeing more yellow.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

