Late Post: In Quest of the Tree of Gold – 3

Day 3
10 March 2016

I continued my pursuit of one of my favourite trees the following Thursday. I had to wake up very early and rush to the Park because of the time crunch. I had to go to office after that.

By 8am I was at Cubbon Park. I raced up the road towards the Bandstand. My jaw dropped when I looked towards the Trees of Gold (Tabebuia Argentea). They still hadn’t bloomed fully (sob sob). Or had they bloomed and the flowers fallen off?  After all I was visiting the place after a 3-day gap.  The yellow bed of flowers under the trees had me confused. Anyway, that did not stop me from clicking. Here are some pictures:

IMG_0516IMG_0518IMG_0519IMG_0521IMG_0523IMG_0524IMG_0525IMG_0526IMG_0527

There was a bed of purple under the Blue Gulmohr.  The Blue Gulmohr trees bloom at around the same time as the Tree of Gold.

IMG_0529

It was breakfast time for these crows and pigeons:

IMG_0530

The park is a great place for reading too. Someday, I hope to finish a book from cover to cover in these tranquil surroundings.

IMG_0534

A lone Jungle Crow seemed to be pondering over something on a branch of a Camel Foot Tree.

IMG_0538

A few steps later, I was greeted by this howling doggie. I guess the sight of some pet dogs at a distance excited him.

IMG_0540

Even as the howling fella continued with his act, a couple of House Crows found this miniature stream of water a perfect place to quench their thirst.

IMG_0541

Yet again, I disturbed some canines from their slumber.

I was enchanted by the sight of this lovely tree. The leaves looked so fresh.

IMG_0546

On these rocks which seemed to be frequented by vandals, one man was exercising his brain while another was resting his.
IMG_0549
By now, I had reached the gate of the park. It was time to leave. Hopefully, during my next visit to the park I would get to see the Trees of Gold in full bloom.
IMG_0553
Leave a Reply

