Blooms and woofs

IMG_7981

The Garden City is blushing pink with the Tabebuia Roseas (also called Pink Poui) in full bloom in most parts of the city. I noticed that unlike its cousin Tabebuia argentea (the Tree of Gold), the Tabebuia Rosea is hardly seen in parks. A majority of these tall and beautiful trees are seen in residential localities and on footpaths of main roads. Like the Tree of Gold, the Pink Poui is a sight to behold when it flowers.

IMG_7994

IMG_7999

I spent a good part of the last weekend in quest of these splendid creations of Nature. I was told there are a good many of them in Domlur and Indiranagar. When I did find these trees on Saturday evening it was simply one of those wow moments. I was awestruck!  It was also raining pink under the trees. The flowers that had fallen on the ground had created a pink carpet.

IMG_8007

The Copper Pod tree (Peltophorum pterocarpum) is also in bloom.  But unlike the Tabebuias, the Copper Pod when in bloom is not completely leafless and as such the magical yellow effect is not so stupendous like that of the Tree of Gold.

IMG_8016

IMG_8018

As if this out-of-the-world effect was not enough I decided to head to Cubbon Park early Sunday morning in quest of the pink beauties. Sadly, there weren’t many. Photographing them also proved difficult because they were in the midst of other trees.

IMG_8020

IMG_8021

I managed to take a not-so-bad picture of the Blue Gulmohr (Jacaranda mimosifolia D. Don.) though 🙂 .

IMG_8022

I never knew that the leaves of the Pipal take such a hue till I saw this one.

IMG_8029

A Jackfruit tree laden with fruit made me feel hungry. Sigh!

The Silent Lady of Cubbon Park was there with her canine companions.

IMG_8040...

The newly conceived Sunday morning Dog Park was bristling with activity.

IMG_8091...

IMG_8089

IMG_8093

A piebald Great Dane was the cynosure of attention with both dogs and humans making a beeline towards him.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was fun watching the pet owners and their furry buddies basking in the golden sunshine.

IMG_8082

A stone’s throw away, a couple was feeding bagfuls of grain and water to pigeons.

IMG_8081

It was only after some bird poop landed on my hand that I realised there were hundreds of birds roosting on the tree top too.

IMG_8095

As I walked on, I noticed these two men locked in a dual. They were practicing some kind of martial art.

IMG_8096

A yoga class was underway on the lawns. Two dogs had made themselves comfortable amidst the yogis and yoginis. The guru didn’t mind and the shishyas too. How sweet can that be!

IMG_8099

IMG_8098

This fella didn’t allow anyone to disturb his Sunday morning siesta under a Copper Pod tree. Zzzzz

IMG_8105

On my way to the Metro Station I noticed this mango tree laden with fruit. I thus ended my Sunday morning on a fruitful note (pun intended).

IMG_8017

2 thoughts on “Blooms and woofs

Leave a Reply

