The day I discovered the Blue Gulmohr

A Sunday morning stroll through Lal Bagh threw up some surprises. This is nothing new. Every visit to Lal Bagh has thrown up surprises. The Tabebuia rosea are in full bloom in quite a few parts of the city. I had timed my visit expecting to catch a glimpse of these wonderful trees in the city’s most famous green space. To my disappointment barring one tree which had just begun flowering, there were hardly any.

However there were lot of other pleasant happenings in store. Awww..This sweet sight made up for the initial disappointment of not seeing the pink blooms.
Image

The Champaka trees around the Glass House had flowered and walking under them was an ethereal experience thanks to the sweet fragrance of the flowers.
Image

In what looked like a dry leaf dump outside the Glass House I noticed this foundation stone. Wow! Wonder what the gardens would have looked like in 1935.

Image
A lot of fruits had fallen from the Anda Gomesii tree (a tree that has its origins in Brazil). I tried to break one open. It proved to be a hard nut to crack. In fact I couldn’t crack it at all 😦

Image

The Anda Gomesii tree.

Image

The fruit of the Anda Gomesii tree.

The flowers of the the Pachira saithifolia looked spectacular. The central part of the flower bears a strong resemblance to the flowers of the Rain Tree.

Image

Pigeons were having a good time hopping on the roof of the bandstand.

Image

Yellow blossoms stood out on this arch.

Image

And this is a 200-year-old mammoth White Silk Cotton Tree. Notice the buttressed roots. The tree has pinnate leaves with five to seven leaflets. The wood of the tree being very light is used to make match splints and packing cases.

Image

The 200-year-old White Silk Cotton Tree.

Image

The foliage of the White Silk Cotton Tree.

As I walked on I noticed a tree with fruits that looked like mangoes. I learnt from the info pasted on the trunk that it is a baelfruit tree. On Googling I learnt that the Bael or Bilwa fruit tree has immense health benefits. Check this out.

http://www.satvikshop.com/blog/herbs-knowledge-base/bael

Image

My heart stopped when I came across this information plate. A tree called the bullock-heart tree! On Googling I was in for a pleasant surprise. This is another name for the custard-apple tree. The tree derives its name from the heart-like shape of the custard apple.

Image

The Red Silk Cotton tree was in full bloom and a pretty sight!

IMG_0496

The Canon-ball tree was beginning to bloom.

The fruits and flowers of the canon-ball tree.

The fruits and flowers of the canon-ball tree.

I sighted a lot of cormorants at the Lal Bagh lake.

IMG_0510

As I walked away from Lal Bagh lake, I noticed a row of pretty purple blooms. The ground below was carpeted with purple flowers. I learnt that this was the Blue Gulmohr. The trees don’t resemble the famous Gulmohr trees that we all know of. The Blue Gulmohr does not have buttressed roots. Also the flowers were purple (unless I am colour-blind). Wonder why the name Blue Gulmohr?

IMG_0512 IMG_0513

And lo! What do I see here! An extremely beautiful piece of architecture. This is the Pigeon House that was constructed in 1893. More on this here:
http://www.ijaunt.com/lalbagh/pigeon-house

IMG_0517

As I walked on I noticed this old lady picking up fallen flowers. Now that’s another reason to visit Lal Bagh.

IMG_0522

People also come here for endless chats.

IMG_0524

Before I left I took one last picture, that of the hillock which has given so much character to the famous botanical garden.

IMG_0526

Leave a Reply

