A lovely February afternoon at Lal Bagh – I

The month of love is a lovely time to visit Lal Bagh. The weather is great, so many trees bloom and the air is filled with a mélange of sweet fragrances. As I walked in through the gates I was greeted by the canopies of bougainvillea that covered the footpaths on either side.
Image

I found it difficult to take my eyes off these yellow blossoms at the parking zone.

Image

At the foothill of the famous Lal Bagh hillock the Moulmein Rosewood trees were in full bloom.

Vying for attention with the mauve beauties was the Mother of Cocoa tree.Image

Trees are such great creations of God. They look so beautiful even when they are leafless!

Image

As I climbed up the hillock I noticed this tree standing tall amidst a cluster of rocks. Great place to meditate I should say!

Image

On the wall surrounding the Kempegowda Tower I was taken aback when my eyes fell on this headless statuette. Wonder who kept it there and why??

Image

This bench (in the bonsai garden) with its cylindrical supports looked pretty artistic:

Image

A group of monkeys seemed to be having a tea-party!

Image

And here’s what many would call a tree with a heart:
Image

Purple blossoms and plenty of them!

Image

Yellow blossoms again! The Tabebuia argentea (Tree of Gold) I guess (?)

Purple blossoms again!!

Image

This is the flower of the Camel’s Foot tree (the shapes of the leaves of this tree resemble a camel’s foot, hence the name):

Image

Till I saw it yesterday, I didn’t know of a tree called the Devil’s Tree. There’s nothing devilish about the tree though. It was planted in 1985 by the then Prime Minister late Rajiv Gandhi.Image

Image

As I walked on, I spotted this beautiful bird bath. I have been to Lal Bagh several times but I can’t recall seeing it. Nothing to be surprised about as each visit to Lal Bagh has led to new discoveries.

Image

And what do I see next, a Jackfruit Tree laden with fruits. Wow! If only I could lay my hands on one of the bigger fruits.
Image

And this is the Saraca thaipingensis, a tree of Malayan origin.
Image

I was fascinated by the flowers of the Ashoka tree:

This  vine with purple flowers looked enchanting:

A row of Frangipani trees made for a pretty picture:

Image

As dusk was gradually beginning to envelope the gardens, and birds were returning to their nests, I bade goodbye to my favourite green space in the city. But not before one final click of the Tree of Gold.Image

Leave a Reply

