Lal Bagh Flower Show – August 2013

Like always, the flower show at Bangalore’s Lal Bagh Botanical Gardens was a spectacular affair. The sprawling gardens with its umpteen varieties of trees, plants and flowers is undoubtedly like a heaven on earth and a favourite of many Bangaloreans including mine. I have become even more smitten with this green wonderland ever since I got my DSLR camera. The place offers photo opportunities aplenty. There are trees, flowers, birds, butterflies, spiders, ants, old buildings, sprawling lawns and motley crowds to aim your camera at. I have always enjoyed my ‘clickathons’ here 🙂

The flower show is a biannual affair and is held at the Glass House in the gardens. While the Rebublic Day edition is held for around a fortnight around January 26, the Independence Day edition is 9 or 10 days long. With zillions of flowers on display, the gardens have thousands to lakhs of visitors every day of the show and the numbers swell in the weekend. For a change from the usual, I decided to make it to the floral feast on the inaugural day. I arrived at around 10 am. In spite of being a week day the place was teeming with people. The Glass House, the venue for the flower show was out of bounds for the hoi polloi. The Chief Minister of Karnataka, Siddaramaiah was slated to inaugurate the show at 11am. Knowing our politicians well, I knew my wait will not end at 11.

When I looked around there were flowers everywhere. Apparently, the organizers had changed their plans this time round. Unlike in all the previous editions of the show when the flowers were displayed only at the Glass House, many varieties were displayed on the lawns too. And clearly there were more flowers and more varieties. Yay!!! I lost no time in going click click click.

I spotted this very colourful butterfly on a zinnia. Till I took this picture, I always thought that it would be impossible to capture a butterfly with a 55mm lens. I couldn’t have been more wrong! Ain’t she lovely?

Image

Marigolds with their many petals and bright hues always make great subjects!

Image

Image

Wow! I didn’t know there were so many varieties of hollyhocks!

Image

Image

Image

Image

There were lots of phlox:

Image

Image

Pretty gladioli:

Image

Image

Nandi, outside the Glass House was being given a fresh coat of paint:

Image

The fountain was working!

Image

Around noon, the Chief Minister finally arrived with a band playing to herald his arrival. After around half-an-hour we were allowed into the Glass House. The star attraction was a floral houseboat decorated with roses of various hues and designed on the lines of the famous houseboats of Kashmir’s Dal Lake. At one end of it fluttered the National Flag.

IMG_6486

Have a look at some of the flowers:

I finished my ‘clickathon’ with these exquisite roses:

The flower show is on till the 15th of August. Try not to miss it! And don’t forget to take your camera!

4 thoughts on “Lal Bagh Flower Show – August 2013

Leave a Reply

